Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
external image SC.GIF&client=nhsl&upc=&oclc=


I read this book in fits and starts, and then all at once. I think it's best read without being put down for days at a time. I feel as though it's somewhat of a cross between Dead Poets Society, Mean Girls, and any contemporary book about bullying except it has OCD thrown in the mix. I was very interested in learning more about the disorder as well as some of the characters in the book. Goodreads argues from some that OCD was not realistically portrayed, but the author did homework and it was loosely based on a real person.

In a nutshell, I'd be willing to argue this for being a Flume nominee. I think it will appeal to fans of Eleanor and Park, Violet and Finch, and other love stories with psychological hurdles thrown in. Definitely more of a call for girls. PS. If you like poetry and poetry slams, I think those portions will really appeal to you.
~Kathy Watson, Kimball Library (Atkinson)

**
I'm not sure the world really needs another YA novel about a girl with OCD, but this is a pretty good one nonetheless. The storyline of a girl trying to break away from her "mean girl" clique is what distinguishes this story from others. Scenes of the main character and her therapist also stand out. My biggest complaint about the story would be the unrealistic "poet's corner" where a group of students have a room under the school auditorium where they meet and recite poetry. While an explanation is offered near the end as to how this came to be, it still seemed a bit farfetched. A plot twist near the end took me by surprise and may have stretched the portrayal of OCD beyond what is plausible, but the author explains how she researched OCD and that the character is based on a young friend of hers.

If there is another "problem novel" out there that people feel strongly about, then this doesn't need to go on the list. However, I think it would be a popular choice and it has a good message.
Kathy Pearce Oyster River HS

I read this book slowly as I was in a bit of a reading slump. I think there's a lot of good stuff in this book and a fair amount of appeal. I think books like this help people know that the thoughts they have are not something that isolates them but rather connects them to a different group of people. My complaint is that the swimming wasn't mentioned enough. She seemed to like it not need it. There were too many topics competing for my attention. This book was meh for me, but others have quite enjoyed it. I'd put this in the maybe pile.
Brittany Moore - Hall Memorial Library